Needles, guns and grass

Posted in Magazines, My drawings by nicolarowlands on April 30, 2009

makeitI had the opening night of my first exhibition in January and as a ‘well done on your opening night of your first exhibition’ present my flatmate Beverley awarded me a scorpion soap and a pack of index cards (What more can a girl ask for?)

Later that week with a brief to complete for Blue-themed issue 14 of Blanket magazine thanks to consuming an entire 2litre bottle of Morrisons lemonade I not only had the sugarific energy I needed for optimum drawing creativity but I also had 100 4×6 lined mini-canvases of possibility.  Here’s my illustration for an article about Joni Mitchell’s downhearted ditty.  As for the concept I realize I may be in the minority in admitting that I found waves more inspiring as a concept than acid, booze, or ass… Hey, I’m wild! I’ve got a scorpion soap!

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

